Food Waste Friday *Sigh*

Well, another Friday rolls around, and my food waste is somewhat of a disgrace.   It’s actually not nearly as bad as last week, although the picture looks as bad.  It’s just that last week there were some items I listed but did not picture.

food waste 20090717

In my defense, some of this stuff (noted below) has been in the fridge for a long time.  From left to right:

  • Half of a half loaf of purchased pound cake.  See, I tried to buy the smaller portion!  Now it’s a brick.
  • Just a little bit of homemade mayo.  I only made a little bit, and it was good, but this stuff just does not last.
  • Mint.  It’s a lovely shade of blackish-green. (long time)
  • Strawberries (again).  I vow next time to make freezer jam out of half the pack as soon as I get it home.
  • A single bell pepper.  I bought a 2-pack, but only used one in a recipe.
  • A few grapes.  We got through most of them.
  • Baby carrots.  These are actually growing roots in the bag. (long time)

So that’s it for this week.  On my radar for next week I have a little bit of blackberry jam, and some greek yogurt that I was suprised still looked good.  My goal is to keep those from showing up next week!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Food Waste Friday *Sigh*

  1. I discovered with baked goods you can cut them up in individual slices, wrap them in saran wrap and store them in a freezer bag to pull out whenever the mood strikes! 20-30 seconds in the microwave and you’ve got yourself a slice of warm poundcake. I’ve been doing this with muffins in the mornings since a batch makes WAY TOO many for me to eat!

  2. Bellen says:

    Red pepper – can be chopped and frozen, defrost, then use in cooked foods
    Cake – besides freezing individual slices, can be cut in cubes, frozen then used for trifle (layer cake cubes, warm pudding refrigerate, top with whipped cream) use next week’s blackberry jam dotted over the cake cubes, then vanilla pudding
    Grapes – can be frozen and then just eaten – do not need to defrost
    Baby carrots – can be steamed, then frozen to use in soups, stews, etc or cook until soft, mash, freeze in 1/2 cup portions and add to muffins, smoothies, etc.

    Don’t forget that all veggies can be stir-fried as side dish, chopped fine and added to salads or stirred into sandwich fillings or added to eggs or to stretch ground beef (peppers, carrots and grated potatoes added to your favorite meatloaf recipe is terrific)

    Hope this helps – food is just too expensive to waste.

  3. Lisa says:

    Rather than going to the extent of making freezer strawberry jam, you can just cut up the strawberries (even just cutting the tops off), lay them on a sheet pan sprayed with Pam so they don’t stick, and freeze them. After they are frozen (doing it this way makes them individually frozen), pop them into a container and use as needed. I do bananas, strawberries, peaches, etc this way and use them to make smoothies. Hey, you could use your blackberry jam to sweeten and greek yogurt to “smooth” the smoothie and have a frugal breakfast!

  4. WilliamB says:

    Carrots that are growing (more) roots are still edible as long as there’s not something else wrong with them.

    Is the other produce all bad or just have bad spots? I can’t tell from the pix. If just spots, then cut out the spots and use the rest pronto.

    I like to make smoothies from not-quite bad fruit and the pieces remaining after I cut away the bad parts. I put the fruit in the blender and blend. If it’s too thin for my preference I get a banana from the freezer (there always seems to be at least one) and add that, if too thick I add milk or yogurt or melon juice or water. No recipe needed!

Leave a Reply

