A Frugal and Environmental Milestone

Well, it definitely took me a long time to get around to it, but I finally did it.  I hung up my laundry.  Outside.

Sure, I had hung wet clothes and other laundry items around the house on occasion, over the backs of chairs and such.  But before now, I have never made a concerted effort to hang an entire load of laundry instead of putting it in the dryer.  So, here it is, in all it’s DIY glory:

laundry

For some reason, it just makes me happy to look at it.  I’m not sure if it’s a smug satisfaction in saving money and energy, or if it somehow puts me back in touch with my long gone great-grandmother.  Whatever it is, I think I’ll be keeping it up.  Who knows?  Maybe I’ll see an offset in my energy bill, especially since July is our most expensive month!

Feel free to give me any suggestions or let me know if I did something wrong – I’m new at this!

Update: Not five minutes (five minutes!) after I took this picture, a freak thunderstorm hit the area (do you see how sunny it is?) AND the front line fell down, putting my sheet and a few other items in the leaves.  Mind you, most of my clothes were pretty much dry by this point.  Now they are soaked.  So I frantically ran outside and pulled everything down.  Now, the sun is shining again.  How’s that for a first-timer’s luck?  I swear, this stuff is too good to make up.

This entry was posted in Environment, Frugal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Frugal and Environmental Milestone

  1. Bellen says:

    Hang shirts from the bottom or overlap the line to the bottom of the sleevehole, otherwise you’ll end up with ‘peaks’ at the shoulders. If anyone in your family suffers from plant allergies it is usually not a good idea to line dry outside. Instead you can hang clothes on hangers on the shower curtain rod, use drying racks. Not using the dryer will save on electricity, helps keep clothes from fading and shrinking and increases their life.

    Also – you can never count on Mother Nature to be cooperative all the time :)

    • jessie says:

      Thanks for the tip. I had heard that you are supposed to hang by the seams, so all of the shirts are hung where the sleeve meets the shoulder meets the top of the shirt (triple seam!). I only suffer from allergies in the Spring, so I’ll probably be avoiding that time. The shower rod is a good tip though – I’ve used that before for my hand-washing (don’t really want my unmentionables up for everyone to see! ^_^).

Leave a Reply

