The Lure of the Barcode Scanner: Part II – The Aftermath

In Part I of this story, I lamented discussed my options in registering for baby gifts. My goal was to make sure that my daughter had everything she needed to thrive without too much extra “stuff”.  Well, all 6 baby showers (yes, 6) have passed, and my daughter is 11 weeks old. So, how did we come out?

My husband and I are truly lucky to have such an overabundance of loving friends and family members. To make it even more poignant, my daughter is not only the first grandchild of three sets of grandparents, but also the very first child born to any of my own cousins. Needless to say, she was a highly anticipated baby. Everyone delighted in showering her with gifts, and we are truly grateful.  Because of our family, we will probably have to buy little or no clothing for her until about 18 months.

Just a little taste of her wardrobe

But this leaves me with a different problem – what am I going to do with all these clothes? There are so many adorable outfits for little girls; I have tons of onesies, dresses, and pants sets that are just cool – definitely a lot different from what I thought baby clothes looked like before I got pregnant. I’m worried that I won’t be able to make good use of all these outfits – in fact, there were several newborn size outfits that she never wore, because she had almost outgrown them by birth!  She’s already grown out of 0-3 month size, and I will admit it hurt to put away all that clothing.

The good news is, however, that this is not the end of the line for these outfits.  My husband and I are one of the first couples among our friends to have children, and there are also many people in our families that have not had children yet.  There will be plenty of opportunities to hand these clothes down, especially since they all still look brand new!  And of course, we aren’t sure whether or not we’re having another child, so for now, we’ll be holding on to them…

This entry was posted in Baby, Downsizing, Environment, Frugal, Thrift, Waste. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Lure of the Barcode Scanner: Part II – The Aftermath

  1. Christina says:

    Yes….she does have a massive amount of clothes, and I think two of those outfits came from Liz :) …but like you said, you can pass them down…..liiiike to us in a couple of years! haha :)

Leave a Reply

