Capsule Wardrobe Planning

Lately I’ve been on a mission – a mission to reduce the amount of stuff in our home.  A large part of this effort has been trimming down my wardrobe.  I’m no clothes horse by any means, and yet it still feels like I have quite a few items languishing in the closet.  I’m tired of holding on to a bunch of stuff I never wear, but the problem is that it’s perfectly good stuff.  I can look at everything in my closet and say “Yeah, I still like that” – so why do I never wear it?

Kenneth Cole Jacket:  “You never take me out!  Don’t you love me?
Me:  “Sure I love you KCJ, but you only look good with jeans.”
KCJ:  “So?  You’d look really smart walking around with me and a pair of jeans.”
Me: “Yeah probably, but I never go anywhere that I need jeans and a suit jacket anymore.”

Enter the capsule wardrobe.  While screwing around on browsing the internet, I stumbled on this article about capsule wardrobes.  It has a lot of great information on how to set up capsule wardrobes and why you should do it.  The basic process is as follows:

  1. Examine your life.  No, I mean really.  Where do you go?  Where do you work?  What do you do for fun?  I mean what do you really do for fun?
  2. Divide your life into “capsules”.  For example, since I am a work at home mom, I should have a “WAHM” capsule, and a “mom-on-the-go” capsule (it seriously makes me cringe to say “mom on the go”, but hey, it’s a big part of my life).  I also go into the office sometimes, so I should have an “office” capsule.   For going out, I need a “casual weekend”, “fancy weekend”, and probably a capsule for special events, etc.
  3. Assign a size to each capsule, which dictates how many items you should have in each.

The idea is to make each capsule a set of mostly interchangeable clothing, so you can get the most combinations out of the least amount of clothing.  This may not be for everyone, but I think it really appeals to my sense of order and organization.   Now it’s time to pull all the clothing out of my closet and get to sorting!!! (Sorry DH!)

This entry was posted in Downsizing, Organization, Simple, Waste. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Capsule Wardrobe Planning

  1. You’re talking my language. I find this whole concept very exciting! I have already made a start on my wardrobe, as well as in other areas of my life.

Leave a Reply

