Touch it Once Rule

I used to be an incredibly efficient house cleaner.  Whenever it was time to clean, I would go through each room, sorting everything out of place into piles.  Once I finished, I could disseminate those piles quickly for cleaning with the least effort possible.  This allowed me to pretty much do whatever I want during the day without cleaning it up.

Problem is – I just don’t have that kind of time anymore.  And I mean that quite literally – I have time, I just don’t have that kind of time.  With a toddler, my time comes in fits and starts, so clearly I need a cleaning scheme that takes advantage of this kind of time.

Enter the Touch It Once Rule.

The basic idea is that you put things away or clean them as soon as you use them, aka only touch the item one time.  This can even work if you already have a mess – if you pick up a piece of clutter, take it immediately to its home.  Don’t set it on the table or in a basket (I’m really bad about doing this).

The real challenge is that I’m not just doing this for me.  I’m doing it for me and an 18 month old.  I’m hoping though, by implementing the touch it once rule now, she’ll easily make the transition into cleaning up after herself, since the house will always (usually?) be clean.

It’s already working pretty well – I can see the house slowly but surely getting cleaner.  Let me know how you keep the house clean in the comments – I would especially love advice from people with toddlers!

This entry was posted in Cleaning, Simple. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

