Storing Fresh Basil

Long time no see folks!  Things have been crazy around here for the last couple of weeks.  On that note, I think I’ll just jump right in…

So, all the conventional wisdom is that you should regularly prune your basil plant to get more full, bushy growth.  But what do you do when you don’t actually need the pruned basil, don’t have enough to freeze, but don’t want it to go bad?

So I tried an experiment of just putting the leaves in water, and they seemed to be doing just fine.

Imagine my surprise when I pulled one out to use and saw this:

The single little leaf had rooted!  I had no idea that this would happen.  They say you need two leaf nodes under the water to get rooting, but maybe that just so you have a viable plant.  I doubt a single leaf could survive for long, but it’s definitely interesting!  I have found now that basil stored this way will actually last for a week or two!

This entry was posted in Food Waste, Gardening, Simple and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

