Squirreling Away for the Winter

I’m taking a cue from the squirrels, and putting away some of summer’s bounty for leaner times:

My first attempt at piecing together a panorama.  Not the best work, but I had fun!

The sweet potatoes are from my grandfather’s garden.  They are already cured, so they just went into a paper sack.  The tomatoes and peaches are from the farmer’s market.  When one of the farmers heard that I was canning, he offered me his basket of damaged tomatoes for half price.  Score!  Out of this bounty I got two quarts of peaches and three quarts of tomatoes.

I’m currently using a storage room for excess produce.  It’s at the very bottom of the house, so it stays pretty cool with the AC running (and trust me, the AC is running quite a bit right now).  In the winter, I’ll close the vents and put a towel under the door, so it turns into a makeshift root cellar.  Apple season is just barely started here in Georgia, so I can’t wait to put away some apples!  I’ll have to research good keeping varieties.

What are you planning to store for the winter?

This entry was posted in Frugal, Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Squirreling Away for the Winter

  1. Kim says:

    Jessie, do you know of a good apple orchard/pick your own/fun farm in the area? I’m needing a little early fall fix in a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

