Planning My Menu OR Performing a Home Root Canal

Okay, okay, menu planning is probably not that bad, but for some reason, I have just not been able to make myself do it.  I watch The Frugal Girl do it every week (her menu plan is up today in fact).  And then earlier this month I read a menu planning post by Anisa over at The Lazy Homesteader and said “Yes! Now is the time!  I can do this!”… and sat on it for about two weeks.

Why do I want to make myself do this so badly, when it clearly pains me?  For one, I’m tired of multiple trips to the grocery store during the week.  I would love to just go once to the grocery and once to the farmer’s market and be done with it.  Secondly, if I plan my menus around what’s left in the fridge, it should really help avoid food waste.  Thirdly, it should make the grocery list and the actual shopping trip a faster and less painful affair, since the former is usually hobbled together when the hubs is at work and the latter is done with a toddler in the basket.  So with no further ado, here is my menu plan for the coming week, in all it’s glory:

Breakfasts:  Greek yogurt with honey or strawberry bits that have already been processed and are in the freezer, scrambled eggs, bacon, homemade toast, whole grain freezer waffles with maple syrup

Lunches:  Monday night’s pork roast will make BBQ sandwiches for lunches, leftovers

Saturday: Our daughter is spending the weekend with grandparents, and we are having a date night, so no cooking here!

Sunday: We’ll be headed to our hometown to throw a birthday party for our daughter (she is turning 2) in the afternoon, so dinner will be cheddar corn chowder from the freezer.

Monday: BBQ pork roast, oven recipe

Tuesday: Buttermilk roast chicken, red potatoes, fresh veggie

Wednesday: Wednesday night is my knitting group, so leftovers here

Thursday: Ribeye steaks, risotto, salad

Friday: We eat small meat portions, so the ribeyes will last us a second night

Hopefully I can make this a weekly occurrence, although I will probably not dedicate an entire post to it in the future. I’ll let you know next week if this all works out!

This entry was posted in Food Waste, Simple, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Planning My Menu OR Performing a Home Root Canal

  1. Pingback: Saturday Links and Menu Plan | Jessie : Improved

Leave a Reply

