Wild Days

I long for the days I would spend every waking hour in the woods.  I long to hear my mother calling me in for dinner, always within earshot.

I long for the days I used to climb trees, unconcerned with falling, skinned knees, or insects.  I long for the days when trees seemed so, so tall.

These are not the trees of my childhood, but they could be.  There are a few more houses and roads nearby then there used to be as well.  Now I walk this world no longer alone, in partnership with a wonderful man, leading the way for my young daughter, and preparing a space for the tiny life still inside of me.  Yesterday I celebrated the vernal equinox, Ostara if you follow the old ways.  I am no pagan, but I love the old sacred days, to be a part of nature, in harmony with it, as I believe God put us here to be.  I believe that if I am strong in my faith there is something to be celebrated everywhere, from the spring birthing of a lamb to a seedling pushing its way out of the ground to the love we have for one another in this sometimes crazy world.  Life is amazing, folks, go out and live it.

This entry was posted in Environment, Simple, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

