Asheville Dreamin’ (and the giveaway winner!)

I think I’ve mentioned before how much I love Asheville.  Well, given the opportunity to get away for our anniversary weekend, there was really only one place we wanted to go…

With the beautiful weather here in the south, it only made sense for us to make this more of a nature-centric trip.  So we decided to do a couple of things we have never done before – visit the Biltmore house and the North Carolina Arboretum.  First was the Biltmore – while the house is certainly impressive, what we really enjoyed were the grounds.  First of all we walked through the tulips, which were on their way out but certainly still impressive:

Then on to the conservatory.  I have to say, I am a sucker for a greenhouse full of tropical plants.

And finally, on to the azalea gardens.  There are 15 acres of native azaleas on the estate – a landmark to sustainable landscaping here in the south.  I can attest that my handful of azaleas have survived in my front yard despite near complete negligence for 6 years.  In fact, now I’ve got my eye on a few more varieties to add some more colors to the landscape:

The next day, it was on to the North Carolina Arboretum.  The Arboretum has 434 acres conserved, with 65 acres of cultivated gardens and 10 miles of walking trails.  We didn’t walk any of the longer trails this time, but we did visit several of the cultivated gardens.  Most notable was their extensive bonsai collection.

I have a lot of respect for bonsai artists.  Well executed bonsai are vibrantly growing and healthy plants.

All in all it was a relaxing weekend and a great way to celebrate 8 years of marriage.  We topped it off with a trip back home for a little Easter egg hunting.  Not a bad weekend at all.

Also, I’d like to announce that the winner of The Edible Landscape (chosen by random number generator) goes to attemptinggreen!  Congratulations, and I’ll be contacting you by email today to set it up!

attemptinggreen says:

April 5, 2012 at 4:54 pm

I like to plant edibles in our front yard to get the neighbors talking :)

This entry was posted in Gardening, Simple, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Asheville Dreamin’ (and the giveaway winner!)

  1. tipper says:

    I haven’t been to the Biltmore in years-but it is soooo pretty.

Leave a Reply

