Ode to a Simple Sock

How do you know when you’ve darned a sock one too many times?

Well, let me tell you.

It’s when you wear the socks for ONE day, and they go from being completely intact to looking like this:

It’s kind of hard to see because I matched the thread so well, but the darning spots are basically all around the holes.  For comparison, here is the sock’s mate, incredibly still looking like the day I bought it:

It’s funny how once a sock starts to go, it goes.  I got these socks at an Eddie Bauer store years ago, and they are quite literally the best pair of socks I have ever had.  They are super comfortable, warm, match everything, and don’t fall down (a serious problem I have with crew cut socks).  I also love the pattern.  I have darted that sock four of five times, each time buying a month or two.  I’m guessing I’ve gotten at least a year extra out of these socks, maybe more.

Now I’ve either got to get knitting, or begin the hunt.

This entry was posted in Frugal, Self-Sufficiency, Simple and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ode to a Simple Sock

  1. Seeking Joyful Simplicity says:

    Looks like the dog chewed it…time to put that poor sock to rest.

  2. tipper says:

    LOL When I tell people I have socks that are over 5 years old-that I still wear-they never believe me. I’m glad you do too : )

  3. Barb says:

    Time for new socks, definitely. How about knitting some?

Leave a Reply

