Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 11

Producing more food for my family and becoming generally more self-sufficient has been one of my long time goals now, so I was excited to see the Independence Days Challenge is back on Sharon Astyk’s excellent blog The Chatelaine’s Keys. So each week on Thursdays I’m going to post what I’ve done in each category in the past week.  I’m hoping that this will be the additional motivation I need to reach real food independence!

Plant Something:  Nothing actually planted, but there’s a sweet potato and a tomato sucker in cups of water on my windowsill.  Hoping for some sprouts any day now.

Harvest Something: Herbs, spinach, mesclun mix.  I’ve also gotten a few snow peas but just enough to much on in the garden. 

Preserve Something: Nope.

Waste Not:  Making a smoothie today out of leftover kale, some not-so-crispy carrots, strawberries, and kefir that we really need to start drinking, because my daughter decided that she rarely wants it anymore.

Want Not:  Stocked up on probably about 6 months of jam, hopefully enough to last us until I can make some of my own jam out of our fruiting plants.  Crossing fingers that the honey people will be at the farmer’s market this weekend, but it’s still early.  Also making a meat CSA pickup today.  I added a few things to the order, so I’m hoping to coast through the month buying no meat but fish and maybe a little chicken.

Eat the Food:  We are starting to work through last year’s canning to make room for this season.  This past week we ate a quart of tomatoes and we’re currently working on a quart of peaches.

Build Community Food Systems:  Gave out a little advice to a new-ish gardener, but not much else.

Skill Up: I made ricotta!  Okay, not really ricotta, more like paneer, but it tastes pretty much the same.  It’s super simple – you can curdle the milk with a little vinegar and salt in the microwave and then strain out the curds through paper towels.  Delicious!

Previous Weeks:  Week 11 | Week 10 | Week 9 | Week 8 | Week 7 | Week 6 | Week 5 | Week 4 | Week 3 | Week 2 | Week 1

This entry was posted in Gardening, Independence Days 2012, Self-Sufficiency, Simple and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 11

  1. Wow, it’s so cool that you are getting stuff from your garden already. Mine’s not even in the ground yet! Great post, btw.

    • Jessie says:

      Yeah, I enjoy our long growing season but we usually pay for it with an atrocious summer – hopefully not this year with La Nina though (crossing my fingers)!

  2. 6 months worth of jam, ha? Awesome! I’m hoping for a good fruit harvest this year so we can make lots of jams and butters :-)

    Here’s my IDC post: http://skymindedandevergrowing.blogspot.com/2012/04/independence-days_20.html

  3. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 12 | Jessie : Improved

  4. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 13 (The Last Week??) | Jessie : Improved

  5. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 14 | Jessie : Improved

  6. Pingback: June Garden and Independence Days Update | Jessie : Improved

Leave a Reply

