Food Waste Friday – Whoop!

FoodWasteFriday Every Friday, Kristen over at The Frugal Girl posts a picture of her food waste. She invites other bloggers to join in her effort to save money and reduce the amount of food that gets thrown away in our country every day.

Hooray!  I am not throwing anything out today!  I seriously attribute this to 1) very little grocery shopping and 2) stretching meals to the limit.  We made oven fried chicken (from Cooks Country magazine, same folks as Cooks Illustrated) out of a pack of thighs and legs I had in the freezer and on the second night, Ruby and I subsisted on just one thigh (and sweet potatoes, and green beans, and toast ;-) ).  With that kind of stretching you don’t really waste anything!  This week I’ve got buttermilk to use up.  I usually don’t buy buttermilk, I just clabber regular milk with vinegar, but for the oven fried chicken soak I really wanted the real thing.  So I made biscuits this morning, and I’ll have to do a few more things to finish it off.

We just picked up our meat CSA yesterday, so I’ve got a lot of meals to plan!  First is red beans and rice with some of their kielbasa (I’d totally use andouille but I want the kid to eat it!) – I’m excited to try it!

Since I like to add a picture to every post when I can help it, I leave you with some images from our trip to the Biltmore a few weeks ago.  I’d have to say, the conservatory was my favorite part!

This entry was posted in Environment, Food Waste, Food Waste Friday, Frugal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Food Waste Friday – Whoop!

  1. Yay for you! The flowers are just stunning.

  2. Look at those gorgeous flowers. And congrats on no waste this week!

  3. I freeze buttermilk in the amounts that I use in my favorite recipes. Then I just pop it out of the freezer when I need it. You might try that if you have time.

Leave a Reply

