Do the Baby Shuffle

I think that it might be the first time on the blog that I’ve mentioned it, but we’re expecting another tiny person here at the Jessie : Improved compound – another girl, in fact.  Now, just to let everyone know, I’m not going to be switching full gear into baby mode around here, talking about diapers and breastfeeding all the time and waxing poetic about the growing life inside of me.  For one, I’ve done this before and two, I’m really just not that kind of girl.  Of course there will be a post here and there (because this blog is about whole life improvement) but it will be mostly limited to the environmental/organizational/time management aspects of children.  That being said, I’d like to share my “baby shuffle” plans with you.

When Ruby was first born, I kept her in a sort of bassinet (actually a Moses basket with a stand – highly recommended) by my bed for the first few months, since I was nursing full time.  I intend to do this again.  My long term plans are to have the two girls share a room, which would require moving Ruby out of her current room and into what is now the office (a larger room) and downsizing the office for that space.  However, there will most likely be a period in between where the new baby is ready to go into a crib but is not quite sleeping through the night, so I’m really hesitant to shack them up together that early.

So here’s the plan – for a short period of time, I’m going to lose my hobby table in the office (begrudgingly) to make way for the crib, and Ruby gets a new bed in her existing room.  I put away some books in the office to make storage for baby clothes and supplies, and baby and office live together for a few months.  When baby is consistently sleeping through the night, the final move will commence.  I’m willing to completely disrupt my current office during that final move if it means a smoother transition for the girls, especially Ruby, who will be around 3 during this time.

So what do you guys think of my plan?  Anyone dealt with a similar situation where they had to decide when to put the kids in the same room?  Constructive criticism is welcome, as long as you keep it friendly and supportive.  I’m trying to do this in the most frugal way possible with the least disturbance to the girls, and this is the best I’ve come up with so far.

Ruby in her Moses basket at 2 months (immediately post-vaccination)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do the Baby Shuffle

  1. My babies slept in a cradle in my room for the first month, then moved into our teeny tiny nursery (we didn’t have an extra bedroom, so we made a nursery by curtaining off the washer/dryer and setting up the crib and change table in our laundry room (main floor laundry). We built a playroom/bedroom addition before the second baby came and the older child moved into the new bedroom. The baby stayed in the old nursery until she was 1, then we moved them in together. They still share a room, even though we’ve since moved and now have 4 bedrooms. They seem to like it that way. With one turning 12 next year, that may come to an end, but it’s worked great so far.

    • Jessie says:

      Sounds like your situation was not a whole lot different from my plan, I’m just shacking the baby up with the office instead of the laundry room (which is all the way in the basement, so it probably wouldn’t work well!). I’m glad to hear it worked out well for you.

Leave a Reply

