Food Waste Friday – Bad Stuff

Every Friday, Kristen over at The Frugal Girl posts a picture of her food waste. She invites other bloggers to join in her effort to save money and reduce the amount of food that gets thrown away in our country every day.

This week’s waste – some awful mashed potatoes.  The reason that they are awful (I usually make super awesome potatoes) is that I cooked the potatoes and then tried to freeze them before mashing.  Apparently that was a horrible mistake.  The liquids separated from the potatoes and never came back together.  We ate them once for dinner and I ate them one more time like a trooper, but I just couldn’t do it anymore.  Now I’m afraid they are too old to use in anything else.  Does anyone make bread out of leftover mashed potatoes?  I bet that would have been a use for this.

Also not pictured – a little bit of tortilla dough that didn’t get cooked.  I was making tortillas with a friend, and my blood sugar dropped so low (I’m slightly hypoglycemic) that I said I just had to eat and we put the rest of the dough in the fridge.  Also a big mistake.  The next day the dough was so sticky I could have probably used it as wallpaper paste.

The good news is that lately my waste has been limited to food that is actuallybad, so I probably just need to figure out ways to use stuff like that up.

How did you do?

 

This entry was posted in Food Waste and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Food Waste Friday – Bad Stuff

  1. Jess says:

    I have made potato cakes out of old mashers before. You just add flour and maybe some egg if they are dry, salt and peppers, etc. Form them into patties and fry in a skillet with a bit of oil. They end up like less greasy versions of the McD’s hashbrowns.

  2. I make Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes that combines cream cheese, sour cream, and butter with the potatoes when you mash them. They freeze fine with the extra ingredients and taste great. That’s the only way I have frozen potatoes successfully.

    • Jessie says:

      I think my problem is that I cut up potatoes, boiled them, and then froze them. Apparently this does not work, because all the liquid separated from the potatoes in storage and never would recombine. The resultant texture was absolutely atrocious.

  3. Hey Jessie – my potential waste turned out okay in the end and was popped in a slow-cooked chilli!

Leave a Reply

