Thursday Gardening: Bounty of the Harvest

Well, I have yet to post on one of my biggest improvements to date – gardening.  Not only does it save us money, but it will also help us live a more healthy lifestyle.  So, every Thursday I think I’ll give my readers a bit of a gardening update.

A few harvests this week, first off some potatoes:

blog 001

These potatoes were a complete save, because they came from a grocery store yukon gold that had sprouted in the cabinet.  They were mighty tasty in corn chowder!

Next up, my very first cucumbers.  I planted several things later in the summer for a fall harvest, and I have a feeling this is going to be a prolific producer:

blog 002

The first two are just right, but the third one I didn’t notice because it was sitting on the ground.  My cucumbers are on a trellis so most are hanging up in the air.  They’re quite prickly!

I’m excited at the idea of supplementing our diet with home grown vegetables.  We have been herb gardeners for years, but this is the first year I’ve forayed into full fledged veggies.  I know I can provide a healthy and cheap diet for my family this way.  Look forward to more garden-y posts in the future!

This entry was posted in Frugal, Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thursday Gardening: Bounty of the Harvest

  1. Bellen says:

    Congratulations – garden produce just tastes better than store bought. Warm from the sun, only handled by you or someone you know, fed and watered with what you know – pure heaven.

  2. Mom says:

    I’m very proud of your new found domesticity!

Leave a Reply

