A Frugal Beach Trip

Our Beach View "On a Technicality"

Our Beach View "On a Technicality"

Man, am I exhausted.  I just got back from a weekend trip to St. Simons Island, GA for a bachelorette party weekend.  One of my best friends is getting married on October, and I am her matron of honor (I feel so old when I call myself a “matron” ^_^).  A few hours of sleep each night is just not enough for someone who is about 4 months pregnant!!

You may remember I did a post several weeks ago about this upcoming trip, discussing how our new frugal choices have made this trip affordable in light of a bigger international trip and our greatly anticipated new arrival.  Many of the other ladies on the trip are also on budgets, so the bride and I conspired to make this the most frugal weekend getaway that we could.

First of all, the location was a good choice.  St. Simons Island is a lovely little place, but a lot cheaper than some of the other nearby destinations.  Also, since it’s a Georgia beach, everyone carpooled and only drove a few hours, saving a lot of money on gas.

So how did it break down?

  • 7 ladies in a two bedroom condo that sleeps 6 – $87 per person
  • $10 per person for groceries (I ended up buying them and spent $90, but I brought the leftovers home)
  • $15 for dinner on Saturday night (the only night we went out, I split a plate)
  • $50 of gas split with another girl (so $25 for me)

That comes out to a grand total of $137 per person.  I also bought 5 matching Beatrix Potter books from a used bookstore, and a souvenir magnet for a combined $25, bringing my total to about $162.  Not bad at all!  The condo with a kitchen really helped.

I would like to hear about your frugal vacations.  What have you done to save money on trips?  Please share in the comments section below.  Thanks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

