Food Waste Friday – Back on the Bandwagon

Hi everyone!  It’s been a little while, I know, but I’m back and ready to get my blog started back up.  I’ve been busy over the past few weeks – trip to Ireland, matron of honor for my friend’s wedding, and I’ve been posting over at Wardrobe Refashion.  If you’re not sure what that is, click over to my initial post about the site.

Anyway, this post is about food waste, so here goes!

food waste 20090925

From left to right:

  • 1/2 lime – geez that is gnarly
  • a few ounces of cheese that we did not wrap up properly, so it dried out
  • some potatoes I cut up, then we didn’t cook
  • 3 moldy strawberries
  • a container of really old macerated strawberries (maybe 3 or 4 strawberries?)
  • a cucumber from the garden

So, it’s a lot this time, but in fairness, I’ve missed a few weeks of food waste, so some of this is pretty old.  The cucumbers I’ve had a hard time keeping up with – my plants are prolific!  I’ve already used about 10 of them along with some onions to make a marinated salad that I put into the freezer in containers.  I’ve really got to get back into this, or the picture may look just as bad next week!

I’ve got a few posts cooking, so I hope to get my blog started back up in earnest.  Stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Food Waste, Frugal, Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Food Waste Friday – Back on the Bandwagon

  1. Bellen says:

    Could the dried up cheese be grated or run thru the food processor?
    Even tho they are a problem, I envious of your cukes, ours produced about 4 then succumbed to some sort of mildew and/or bugs.

    • jessie says:

      The cheese dried up so much it cracked throughout, and I am really worried about mold I can’t see living inside the cracks. Since I am pregnant right now I’m trying to be a little cautious as well. Yes! The cucumbers have been a blessing, but they are finally giving out, and I can’t say I’m sorry to see them go. ^_^

Leave a Reply

