Food Waste Friday – Clean Slate

Every Friday, Kristen over at the The Frugal Girl posts a picture of her food waste. She invites other bloggers to join in her effort to save money and reduce the amount of food that gets thrown away in our country every day.

The last time I was posting regularly, I was also participating in The Frugal Girl‘s Food Waste Friday, where we all post pictures of our food waste.  Reducing waste has always been important to me, coming from a more rural family and growing up next door to my grandparents, who experienced the Great Depression and other hardships of the deep south during their lives. Now that I’m blogging again, I definitely want to start this back up.  However, this week there won’t exactly be a single picture of all of my food waste, because it’s taken me this whole week to clean out the fridge! With a long hospital stay and then a new baby, I am ashamed to say the fridge reached a pretty sorry state. My goal for this Friday is to completely clean out the fridge and pantry, discard (or compost) anything that’s gone bad, and start the next week fresh.  This way my next food waste picture will be a good representation of a week’s worth of waste.

Stay tuned for next week!

This entry was posted in Food Waste, Frugal, Thrift, Waste. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Food Waste Friday – Clean Slate

  1. Glad to have you back, Jessie! And congrats on the new little one. 🙂

  2. Sorry If I am double commenting, but my comments didn’t show up and I realized I had some scripts blocked.

    What I said was…Excellent.

Leave a Reply

