Food Waste Friday

Every Friday, Kristen over at the The Frugal Girl posts a picture of her food waste. She invites other bloggers to join in her effort to save money and reduce the amount of food that gets thrown away in our country every day.

Hooray, no food waste this week!  The last of the lasagna we made and froze before our daughter was born helped us finish off an entire head of romaine lettuce, and I used up half of a large red onion on some pico de gallo and guacamole to eat with tacos.  It was also my first opportunity to use my new cilantro plant, which has gotten absolutely huge.  Expect a garden post soon…

On the radar for next week:

  • Some shallots (I like to saute these with garlic and then steam English peas)
  • Half a leek (need to use this this week)
  • Some parsley – I have a parsley plant now, but I still have some in the fridge.  It looks mostly good, so I need to use some of it in the next couple of days so I don’t waste as much.

In other food news, we’re getting a new farmer’s market in the area that we can actually walk to!  It opens tomorrow, and I can’t tell you how excited I am!

Sandy Springs Farmer's Market Logo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food Waste Friday

  1. Alea says:

    Great job! We did have some waste again this week – hopefully next week will be better for us!

Leave a Reply

