Garden Update – April

Square Foot Garden - April

The garden is up and running again this year!  This is particularly poignant for me, since last year I was recovering from a c-section during primo planting season.  The rundown of what you see (and don’t see) here:

  • Sugar snap peas (2 squares)
  • 1 Roma tomato plant
  • 4 strawberry plants
  • Yukon Gold potatoes (2 squares)
  • Shallots
  • Skinny Green Beans (Haricot Vert) – 1 square planted, but 4 squares lined of for succession planting
  • 1 Zucchini mound, which for some reason hasn’t sprouted yet
  • Raspberries in the left pot
  • Carrots in the right pot

I’ve also got an old established herb garden up near the house, which I’ll post pictures of in a later post.

And no, I don’t have a cost basis for my garden, like so many other frugal bloggers.  Why?   Well, I’m just not that organized.   What I can tell you is that my Square Foot Garden setup was super thrifty (the grid is made of extra slats from wooden blinds), and for most of the plants, I went the frugal (read: seed) route.  Also, all my seeds are organic and  mostly open-pollinated, so I’ll be saving seeds for next year.

My little lovelies

This entry was posted in Environment, Food Waste, Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Garden Update – April

  1. Pingback: Garden Update – (Late) June « Jessie : Improved

  2. Pingback: Garden Update – August | Jessie : Improved

Leave a Reply

