Food Waste Friday – Back in the Fold

Every Friday, Kristen over at the The Frugal Girl posts a picture of her food waste. She invites other bloggers to join in her effort to save money and reduce the amount of food that gets thrown away in our country every day.

Hey – I’m back!  It’s been quite some time since I posted a Food Waste Friday, but I really need to get back into this.  There’s been a bit more food going bad around here than I would like…

Clockwise from the top:

  1. Some leftover doggie-bag fries.  Minus 10 points for the styrofoam container (if I may lay blame, this was brought home by my dear husband ^_^)
  2. Some very moldy applesauce.  This was just a silly mistake, because my daughter has homemade applesauce in her oatmeal every morning, and I started on a new batch without realizing there was still some left in the fridge.  At least it wasn’t much.
  3. A few grapes.  I can only feel so bad about these, because they had already been saved once.

The grapes my husband and I actually brought home from our hotel room we stayed in for our anniversary.  They brought us so much food that morning that we couldn’t possibly eat it all.  We couldn’t bear to waste all that fruit, so we nabbed the plastic bag out of the ice bucket and used it to carry it home. +1 point for reuse!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

