Finding Balance

My daughter was sick yesterday.  (Nothing too bad – don’t worry)  This means that it was a rare 2 nap occasion, which leaves me with a little more time in the day than I’m used to.  So I work a little, putter around in the garden, check the mailbox, then sit, feeling kind of tired and vaguely dissatisfied with it all.

Lately I’ve been inspired by the blogger and mom of (almost) 5 SouleMama – especially posts like this one.  Of course I don’t have any illusions – everyone has their bad days, but it seems at least from the outside that she’s been able to craft a nice balance between work, children, and personal fulfillment (oh, we women often forget tat last one!).  Don’t get me wrong; I certainly enjoy myself, but I always feel like something is slipping.

What I need to do is waste less time.

I don’t mean all work and no play, not by any means.  Enjoying yourself is not wasting time.  Wasting time is fidgeting on the couch, worrying about all the things you need to do.  Wasting time is standing around with your keys in your hand, trying to figure out what to go pick up for lunch because you weren’t prepared for it beforehand (this one happens to me all the time).  Wasting time is having to go to the grocery two days in a row.  Wasting time is not giving your child full attention because you’re always scrambling (futilely) to do something else.

I’m sure I’m not the only one struggling with this.  Please, let me know in the comments section your tips.  I’ll get back to you with my plan in a future post!

This entry was posted in Organization, Simple. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

