Sometimes a Not-So-Thrifty Purchase is Still Thrifty

I am a thrift store good luck charm – for others and for myself.  For some reason, if you go thrifting with me you are bound to find something you love.  I buy nearly all my clothes this way, with a few exceptions.  Underwear and socks, of course, are new.  Long wearing staple pieces are sometimes new, since you often have a hard time finding those secondhand.  My general philosophy is thus:

I buy thrifted clothing most of the time, because when that *perfect* piece comes along, I don’t want to care how much it costs.

I am the size of a teenager but with the body of a grown up woman, so sometimes I have a very hard time finding clothes that fit well.  A lot of the time this means altering, which I am relatively good at.  But mostly I have found that more expensive brands just fit me better.  The higher end brands use separate petite and plus size fit models, so if you fall out of the range of “normal” you’re going to have better luck.  I’ve been really lucky to find lots of good brands at thrift stores.  However, sometimes you just can’t find what you’re looking for, and have to go hunting for new…

Sorry folks, no bathing suit action shots

Enter this super cute (and super expensive) 1940’s reproduction halter top bathing suit.  Seriously, it cost me more than I’ve spent on clothes for myself in 6 months (although with thrifting that’s not saying much).  It was worth it though, because it’s really flattering and if it hasn’t gone out of style in the past 70 years I don’t think it’s going to go out of style any time soon.

What pieces have you made a clothing budget exception for?  Did you regret it?  Let me know!

If you want to know where I got this suit, please email me at jessieimproved at gmail dot com.  I really don’t want to give away free advertising. 😉

This entry was posted in Downsizing, Thrift. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sometimes a Not-So-Thrifty Purchase is Still Thrifty

  1. Kim says:

    I bought those crazy Frye engineer boots this past fall. LOVE them, and they were on sale, though not at all cheap. I had wanted them for years. I don’t buy shoes very often, and wear my shoes for years, so felt perfectly justified.

  2. rjprobert says:

    Oh I love this bathing suit, how glamorous. Where did you find it?

  3. Pingback: The Value of Clothing | Jessie : Improved

Leave a Reply

