Garden Update – (Late) June

I am currently on a journey to provide healthy, chemical free food for my family from our own land.  My goal is to provide over half of our fresh produce during the year – I’m nowhere near there yet, but I believe it’s possible!  I’ll be posting my progress at least once a month.

Well, a lot has happened since the beginning of the month, so I thought I’d give you an update.  First of all the most exciting thing is that my tomatoes are finally ripening:

Squeeeeeee!


Seriously you guys, you don’t know how happy this makes me.  Up to this point in my gardening career I have had nothing but epic tomato failure.  I credit my super duper tomato protectors.

Carrots are coming along nicely…

…and my sugar snap peas have had a bit of a revival.  It’s a good thing too, because these sugar snap peas are the most delicious garden veggie I have ever eaten.  My daughter and I will snap them right of the vine and eat them like candy.  Yes, I’m serious.

One more thing this post – I got a dwarf peach tree!  I don’t think I’m going to get any fruit this year, but that’s okay.  Hopefully we’ll only have to wait a year for delicious peaches!

All in all the garden is going better than I expected.  For a while I was worried the epic heat was going to destroy everything, but it looks like all my plants are adapting to the new temps.  The heavy rains we have about a week ago couldn’t have hurt either.

Other 2011 Garden Updates:

This entry was posted in Frugal, Gardening, Self-Sufficiency and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Garden Update – (Late) June

  1. Great progress! Great post! Just visited the Eden Project in Cornwall, they have some amazing crops right now. I’ve started a blog about saving money, please have a look, it’s early days yet though!
    http://budgetordietrying.wordpress.com/

  2. Pingback: Garden Update – August | Jessie : Improved

Leave a Reply

