No-Poo – 2 Years and Going Strong

Okay, now that I have your attention with the title of this post, “no-poo” is just a popular internet term for alternative hair washing methods that don’t use commercial shampoos.  It’s been a while since I posted about this, so I thought I’d give you all an update.  First of all, here’s a gratuitous shot of my freshly washed hair:

This is shortly post-wash, brushed, air-dried, no product whatsoever.  For a full description of my hair washing method, please visit my page devoted to the No-Poo Hair Routine, but in short, the process is as follows:

  1. Scrub scalp with a baking soda paste.
  2. Rinse bottom of hair with (very) watered down vinegar.
  3. Use natural bristle brush and water washes in between.

I’ve been doing this for over 2 years now, and I couldn’t be happier with the results.  When I used to use shampoo, I would have to wash my hair every other day to keep from having a matted down oil slick.  Now I only do the baking soda wash once a week, with a water wash in between – two if I get dirty or sweaty.  Usually my hair looks passable even the day before the wash.

One hair stylist told me she’d never seen hair so healthy.  Another remarked that I had very few split ends considering I hadn’t cut my hair in nearly 6 months (I do that a lot).  I have gotten a funny look or two when I ask a stylist not to wash my hair, but most of them have heard of it before so it’s really not that big of a deal.  A bonus to this method is that your hair is always ready for an updo, since your hair is basically the same all week.  No more having to skip washes to get curls to set.

I really encourage those of you that are curious to give it a try.  Be warned: there is a transition period, and it can be rough.  Mine took about 6 weeks before the oils in my scalp calmed down.  You can soften this by starting out with watered down shampoo, then alternating shampoo and baking soda, but be aware that this will just stretch the process out.  It took me over a year to get to the 1 week wash – I started with 3 days and slowly moved up.

Liberate yourself from the tyranny of shampoo!!! 🙂

This entry was posted in Frugal, Self-Sufficiency, Simple and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No-Poo – 2 Years and Going Strong

  1. Sheree says:

    Your hair looks so beautiful! (and are you still doing it?) I just started the method two weeks ago and so far, so good. My hair is much like yours in that it is silky with a bit of natural wave. I’m mostly hoping to cut down on some of the static electricity in the winter (have you found it helps for that?). I started to get nervous about it after seeing some posts where people said it made their hair fall out and become thin, but seeing your hair has renewed my confidence. I am vegan, as well, so I am told the transition won’t be very long due to the lack of animal fats in my diet (so far I’ve not really had any noticeable greasiness).

    I lived in Atlanta for 27 years, but now am back home in Southern Illinois. I bet the flowers are looking beautiful down there right now with this early spring we’re having! I had a beautiful corner garden right on Monroe Drive (near 8th St.) and I miss the night jasmine so much~~

    Take care!

    • Jessie says:

      Yes, I am still doing it! I’m not sure I’ll ever go back to shampoo. And yes, it does cut down on the static in the winter, because you never really dry your hair out to the extent that shampoo does. I think the transition time has a lot to do with how much you shampooed before the switch. I was shampooing every other day and it took me about 6 weeks.

      And yes, the weather’s been absolutely fantastic down here! I just hope it will stay this way for a while, and not get into the 90s in May like last year!

      • Sheree says:

        So glad to hear it’s still working for you as I’m so excited about this~~I’m already noticing how less dry my skin is (and my feet/heels are so much softer!) since I’ve stopped using detergents in the shower…amazing. Maybe I’ll end up with less soap scum to clean, too (that would be a nice benefit).

        Thanks again and good to hear about the static, too. Today it was really humid here, though, and I don’t seem to have frizzy flyaways as I normally would~~this is going to really fun, I think!

  2. Robyn says:

    Awesome! I have managed six weeks no poo and so far love it. Not much of an oily transition but my hair is curly and on the drier end of the spectrum.

Leave a Reply

