Thankful to be an American


I am thankful.

I am thankful that I have the freedom to speak my mind, to share my opinion, even if it does not match my neighbor’s or my government’s.

I am thankful that I have security – from harm, from hunger.  I am thankful that in case I or someone I know ever needs help, that there are services and organizations that provide it.

I am thankful that as a woman, I have the right to hold a job, own property, choose my spouse, raise my children, and speak my mind.  I try to think every day of the women that don’t have these rights.

I am thankful to have elected officials, and if I choose to participate, can influence my own government.

I am thankful for the freedom to worship as I please, and for others to do so as well (even those who are different from me).

I am thankful for the men and women who have died so that I may have these rights.

I am thankful.

image credit bigfoto.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

