Every Friday, Kristen over at The Frugal Girl posts a picture of her food waste. She invites other bloggers to join in her effort to save money and reduce the amount of food that gets thrown away in our country every day.

Well, I skipped a food waste week, so some of this would have probably been distributed.  But here they are, from top to bottom:

  1. Some leftover sauce (gravy?) from a chicken dish we made.  It’s good, we just didn’t use it for anything else.  I really need to plan a dish for stuff like this immediately.
  2. Half a can of water chestnuts and half a can of bamboo shoots.  We had no idea how quickly this would turn south.  We made stir fry with the other half and I swear these were moldy in about 3 days.  Next time we’ll freeze this stuff if we have leftovers.
  3. Raspberries.  I know, I know.  But I seriously think most packs of grocery store raspberries are doomed to fail.  The bottom berries get smashed and mold rears its ugly head in no time flat.  Next time I buy a pack I should separate all the smashed berries and lay the rest flat in another container.

In more upbeat news, if you look in the background of my picture you can see my daily green bean harvest from my garden.  The Maxibel Haricot Vert bush beans that I planted have been great producers; I really recommend them for a home garden.  They taste great too!  I’ve been making produce runs much less often.

This entry was posted in Environment, Food Waste, Frugal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. The Mrs says:

    I have the same problem with gravy – I have a mental block and can’t think of something else to use it in. Maybe just freeze it right away?

Leave a Reply

