Food Waste Friday – Oh the Shame

Every Friday, Kristen over at The Frugal Girl posts a picture of her food waste. She invites other bloggers to join in her effort to save money and reduce the amount of food that gets thrown away in our country every day.

May the fire of a thousand suns burn down on me and cleanse me of my sins.

We wasted barbeque.  Not just any barbeque, homemade barbeque.  This is leftover from what of the pork butt we didn’t freeze.  When I realized we were out of buns, I should have immediately popped it in the freezer.  But I didn’t.  And it sat.  And sat.  Trust me folks, it’s way past any safe meat-eating phase at this point.  <Heavy sigh>

On the left is an attempt to make apple bars from a recipe in The Complete Tightwad Gazette by Amy Dacyczyn.  For one, they didn’t set up, and for two, the taste left a little to be desired.  Even my vacuum cleaner toddler wasn’t really interested.  It’s simply time to call this dish a fail and dump.

In cooking news, today is officially EPIC BREAD DAY!  I have a new philosophy – if you’re going to blow up the kitchen, go whole hog.  The sum of all the messes is inevitably less than the messes made individually.  Here’s what’s on the docket today:

The Frugal Girl’s Whole Wheat Bread – This recipe is fantastic!  The only mod I made was to use a little less honey, the hubs likes it better that way, and I don’t mind.

Make Ahead Dinner Rolls – I make two dozen, freeze them on baking sheets, then pop them in a zippered bag for freezer storage.  Just let them thaw for 30 minutes before baking, so easy!

The Frugal Girl’s Hamburger Buns – These were a hit the last time I made them, so I’m going for it again!  I’m also happy to report that they freeze pretty well in the same manner as the dinner rolls.

I imagine by the end of the day I’ll be scraping flour from under my fingernails and out of my ears.  Wish me luck!

Full disclosure: The link to the Tightwad Gazette goes to Amazon, where I get a small percentage of sales that originate from my link.  In no other way was I compensated for this post.

This entry was posted in Food Waste and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

