Thrift Store Thursday – The Return!

Each Thursday I will share with you one of my fabulous thrift store finds, in the hopes that more people will see the benefit in buying used items.  Buying used allows me to spend money in other places that are more important to me, and give my family the best life I know how.

This week’s thrifting was dedicated to shopping for my daughter, who is starting preschool at a local church for the very first time!  (preschool = 2 half days a week, so more like Mommy’s day out).  Here I bring you a completely thrifted outfit, down to the shoes:

Believe it or not, but this is my "Cheese!" face

Since it was half price kid’s day at the thrift store, the shoes were about $3, the pants $1.50, and the shirt a whopping 35 cents!  All told I spent $24 that day, which included most of her fall wardrobe, plus a dress shirt for the hubs.

Because it’s been a while since I made a thrift store post, I thought I would share with you some information on the thrift store industry.  Many people don’t buy used because they feel like they are taking goods away from the less advantaged, but I ask you, when’s the last time you saw an empty thrift store?  Every time I’m in there they are up to their ears in clothes!  Much of this clothing ends up getting shipped to foreign countries, where it damages the local textile industries.  So I feel like I’m actually doing my part by reducing the amount of used clothing in the world.

Feel free to link to your awesome thrift store finds in the comments section!

This entry was posted in Frugal, Thrift, Waste and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thrift Store Thursday – The Return!

  1. Pingback: The Value of Clothing | Jessie : Improved

Leave a Reply

