Food Waste Friday

Every Friday, Kristen over at The Frugal Girl posts a picture of her food waste. She invites other bloggers to join in her effort to save money and reduce the amount of food that gets thrown away in our country every day.

The poor quality of this cell phone pictures represents my irritation at this morning’s food waste.  Unfortunately my husband was still around to “help me out”, which inevitably results in more items.  On these mornings, I’m not allowed to ignore long running items, like moldy pieces of Parmesan cheese or jars of purchased pesto floating around in the back of the fridge.  So, without further ado, clockwise from top center:

  • One slice of lunch meat.
  • Some leftover gyoza (potsticker) sauce.  We think. O_o
  • Just a little bit of sour cream.  I didn’t realize we still had some and I bought another.
  • Cream cheese.  Bought this for the hubs to eat bagels and that didn’t happen.
  • The aforementioned pesto.  Just a bad purchase, or we should have frozen it.
  • One piece of Provolone.  To be fair, nobody really liked it, so it’s a miracle we got down to a single piece.
  • A moldy chunk of Parmesan.  We go through a ton of Parm, so this is actually surprising.

Well, there’s nothing really left in the fridge after this, so I’m hoping for a no waste week!  In other news, I’ve decided to start participating in SouleMama‘s {this moment} posts, so this is going to be a two post day from here on out – enjoy! 🙂

This entry was posted in Food Waste, Frugal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Food Waste Friday

  1. Amanda says:

    I hate lunch meat or deli item waste. Even one piece, after spending good money on it. Good luck with next week and I like your glassware with lids.

  2. This could have been my fridge (on other weeks). Somehow it seems like we never finish that last piece of deli meat or cheese. I threw out a jar of pesto a few weeks ago and I don’t even remember WHY I bought it?!

Leave a Reply

