Food Waste Friday –

Ever had one of those weeks where it feels like the universe is conspiring against you?

This is my waste for this week – although to be fair, it’s really my waste for two weeks.  Last week we were in Hilton Head with my husband’s family.  We had a wonderful time, but I didn’t really get much sleep.  My daughter rolls over and makes noises all night, so when she sleeps in the same room with us, I spend most of the night thinking, “Is she going to wake up now?  Now?  How about now???” instead of actually getting some rest.  Adding insult to injury, I spent all of Wednesday nauseated (no, trust me it’s not that).  And to top it all off, on Thursday I was outside and something bit me, causing me to go into anaphylaxis!  Not quite bad enough to cause my throat to close thank goodness, but enough to make me take two Benadryl, more than I ever take.  It took about two hours for the reaction to go away, but the rest of the day to find my way out of the Benadryl forest.  Needless to say the past two days have been nigh on useless.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaanyway, I guess you want to hear about my food waste?  Well, the mashed potatoes were left behind for my brother to eat while we were out of town.  He put a pretty good dent in them, but I guess he just doesn’t have the passion for reducing food waste like I do. 😉

On the right is some really old feta cheese (not too much) and an apple that had too many bruises to survive the fridge.  I’ve got some other apples on the radar that need to be cooked and used quickly.  Rounding out the waste is a lime that just spent too long in the crisper drawer and some ancient lettuce.  The lettuce and apple are headed for the compost pile at least – I’m sure the chickens will have a blast!

If the universe is finally finished kicking me in the face, I’m going to try to get back to my routine.  That includes shooting for a waste free week, and actually putting up some blog posts!  To balance out this downer of a post, here’s an adorable picture of my daughter at the beach.  Good luck with your food waste everyone!!

This entry was posted in Food Waste, Frugal, Simple and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Food Waste Friday –

  1. Hoping for better days ahead for you.

Leave a Reply

