Food Waste Friday – Leftover leftovers

Every Friday, Kristen over at The Frugal Girl posts a picture of her food waste. She invites other bloggers to join in her effort to save money and reduce the amount of food that gets thrown away in our country every day.

Both of these items were actually in my fridge last week, and probably needed to go then, so it’s kind of like a no waste week, right?  Right?

On the right hand side is just a little bit of heavy cream (see I marked the line with a permanent marker).  I tried to experiment by freezing the cream in ice cube trays and using them for my husband’s coffee, but it just doesn’t work.  The cream never mixes in to the coffee correctly and just seems greasy.  Moral of the story: I won’t be buying heavy cream in large amounts anymore.

On the left hand side, well, that’s half of a fried apple pie from way back at my apple picking adventure a few weeks ago.  I ate the first half of it, but it was just so disappointing.  I grew up with homemade fried pies made from home grown apples from my grandfather’s garden, so this particular pie seriously disrespected my childhood memories.  I think it sat in the fridge for so long because I was bummed about not eating it, but my husband didn’t want it and I really didn’t want to feed all that sugar to my daughter.

Now for the good news – I’m actually saving a few cups of white wine from the drain by making my first attempt at homemade vinegar:

I’ve heard you can make vinegar without a mother – it just takes longer, but hey, I’ve got the time!  Homemade vinegars are supposedly far superior to store bought, so if this works, I’m going to be making all kinds of vinegars, including apple cider vinegar as soon as I go for a second apple picking trip!

This entry was posted in Food Waste, Frugal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Food Waste Friday – Leftover leftovers

  1. trixfred30 says:

    There would be no way half a bottle of wine would last long in our house

  2. I’ve never made vinegar. Do you use a lot of vinegar?

  3. Elizabeth L. says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever had leftover wine. 🙂 Good luck on your vinegar making!

Leave a Reply

