Food Waste Friday – Teamwork!

Every Friday, Kristen over at The Frugal Girl posts a picture of her food waste. She invites other bloggers to join in her effort to save money and reduce the amount of food that gets thrown away in our country every day.

This weeks waste: 3 restaurant chicken wings.

But I would be disingenuous if I left it at that.  We also wasted a styrofoam container.  It wasn’t me, I swear!  I do my best to bring reusable containers in the car with me in case I need to take leftovers (which is almost every time I eat out). The hubs went out to eat without me and brought it home.  There were too many leftovers in the container to eat all at once, so these three little stragglers got left behind.

I think I’m pretty far from convincing my husband to bring reusable containers when I’m not around, so I have to resign myself (at least for now) to having a few of these come in the house.  The bright side is that many Atlanta area restaurants are taking a clue from their patrons and packaging takeout in paper and cardboard containers instead.

All right, well I’m signing out and hoping for a no waste week next time.  Have a great Friday!

 

Revision!  After reading this post, my husband lovingly pointed out that I WAS indeed with him, and this was during my birthday dinner!  I didn’t have any containers in the car at the time, so it was a choice between using styrofoam and wasting food – oh the agony!

This entry was posted in Environment, Food Waste, Frugal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Food Waste Friday – Teamwork!

  1. swalkerparamedicranger says:

    I’ve never thought about carrying reusable for restaurant leftovers. Thanks for the idea!

  2. I have never thought of it either. I always have leftover food when we eat out, so maybe next time I’ll take a container.

  3. Great idea with the containers-I really don’t like my food in those icky containers to begin with.

  4. Pingback: Task List – October | Jessie : Improved

Leave a Reply

