Happy Blogvember!

No, there’s no such thing as Blogvember.  Yes, I made it up.  But that’s okay!  I’m dedicating the month of November to try to get into the habit of blogging every day.  I’ve really been trying to make this a pretty regular blog, but I find myself putting up a flurry of posts then abandoning it for a week or two.

The chickens in their early days...

So today’s blog news is kind of sad – I gave away the chickens.  To make a long story short (and sum up a previous post)  my three ladies turned out to be one lady and two dudes!  Not only does that really put a damper on egg production, it also doesn’t make for a harmonious chicken household (poor Tammy!).  My only options were to get more chickens, or give these away.  With cold weather quickly approaching, I found the idea of getting new chickens to be quite daunting.  The new plan is to wait until the spring and get some certified pullets, probably 3 or 4, which will be a perfect number of eggs for my family.  I never really wanted a rooster in the first place (and no you don’t need a rooster for eggs!).

This will also give me a chance to make some improvements to their living quarters:

It’s good at keeping chickens in, but very bad at keeping curious beagles out.  And where Jerry enters, chickens exit!  I’m thinking we’re going to need to partly bury the fence, and put in some “real” gates.

Don’t worry, this is not the end of my chicken adventure.  This experience has taught me that yes I do want chickens, but I think I just needed to jump in there and do it once before I got it right.  That’s just the kind of gal I am. 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Blogvember, Chickens, DIY, Self-Sufficiency and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

