New Arrivals

After about an hour and a half of driving and a little last minute setup, the little ladies have finally arrived:

Four Buff Rocks, in all their yellowy cuteness…

The first picture is a top-down of my chick brooder setup.  I think I spent about $7 all told, because the only thing I actually had to buy is the light fixture.  Everything else was just laying around the house.  I’m particularly proud of my chick waterer:

and my chick feeder:

The former is just a marshmallow fluff jar and an old plastic container.  The jar lid is glued to the container and there are little holes drilled around the top of the jar just under the lid.  When the water leaks out to the level of the holes, it stops.  The latter is a quart sized yogurt container with a hole cut in the lid, with a takeout dip container glued to the hole.  Seems to work well so far and with minimum spillage.

The baby chicks seem to be doing fine, albeit tired from all the traveling.  A few had some major pasty rear issues that I’ve had to tackle in phases to get all of it, but they look mostly clean now.  I’m going to keep an eye on that in the next few days to make sure it doesn’t come back.

It’s going to be interesting keeping them in the house for the next few weeks, especially with a toddler and a beagle to contend with.  I’ll be sure to keep you posted on  the inevitable drama!

popular spot?

This entry was posted in Chickens, Self-Sufficiency and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Arrivals

  1. Kim says:

    Adorable! I love your homemade feeder and water set up, too.

  2. What a frugal setup! I’m excited to hear how it goes!

  3. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 2 | Jessie : Improved

Leave a Reply

