Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 2

Producing more food for my family and becoming generally more self-sufficient has been one of my long time goals now, so I was excited to see the Independence Days Challenge is back on Sharon Astyk’s excellent blog The Chatelaine’s Keys. So each week on Fridays I’m going to post what I’ve done in each category in the past week.  I’m hoping that this will be the additional motivation I need to reach real food independence! 

Here’s the recap from this week:

Plant Something:  I didn’t exactly plant anything, but the hubs did give me a Spanish Lavender plant for Valentine’s Day, and I plan to re-pot that today.  I’ll eventually put it out in the ground for beautiful foliage and dried lavender satchels for potpourri! Oh, and I don’t know if it really qualifies as “planting”, but I got some new laying hens!  So, I uh, planted eggs?

Harvest Something:  Still salads, although this week’s hard frost gave the lettuce a beating.

Preserve Something:  I’m bringing up the last of the local Arkansas Black apples today to make apple sauce, or they’re going to go bad.

Waste Not:  Check out my Food Waste Friday post this week – not terribly bad but it’s been a while since I’ve done it.  I’m going to make stock out of last weeks chicken bones today, paired with some veggie ends and a chicken breastbone I’ve been saving in the freezer for this very purpose.

Want Not:  Hmm, don’t really think I bought anything in bulk this week, although I think getting chickens means that eventually, I will want not for eggs. 😉

Eat the Food:  I’ve got my eye on Smitten Kitchen’s Whole Lemon Tart. <drools>

Build Community Food Systems:  Pooey, I didn’t even make it to the farmer’s market this week.  Maybe tomorrow?

Skill Up:  I built a baby chicken brooder from materials laying around the house, including a DIY feeder and waterer.

Not bad, but I could be doing better.  I’m working on the garden this weekend so expect a lot more in the “Plant Something” department next week for sure!  And, just so this post has a picture, happy first-week-birthday-ish (not sure when they hatched) to my baby chickens:

This entry was posted in Chickens, Independence Days 2012 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 2

  1. Sharon says:

    Adorable photo! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 4 | Jessie : Improved

  3. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 5 | Jessie : Improved

  4. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 6 | Jessie : Improved

  5. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 7 | Jessie : Improved

  6. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 8 | Jessie : Improved

  7. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 9 | Jessie : Improved

  8. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 9 (And some sad news) | Jessie : Improved

  9. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 10 | Jessie : Improved

  10. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 12 | Jessie : Improved

  11. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 13 (The Last Week??) | Jessie : Improved

  12. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 14 | Jessie : Improved

  13. Pingback: June Garden and Independence Days Update | Jessie : Improved

Leave a Reply

