Monsanto Case Dismissed with Reckless Abandon

Remember when I told you about about the preemptive lawsuit organic growers were bringing against Monsanto?  Well, yesterday, ahead of the expected schedule, U.S. Federal Dist. Judge Naomi Buchwald dismissed the case.  Now, there are plenty of articles on numerous news sites where you can read up on this case, so I won’t go into details here (I’m listing some links at the end of the article for your benefit).  No, what I want to talk about is how thoroughly the judge dismissed all the arguments for this case.

First of all the courts chastised the plaintiffs for making a “transparent effort to create a controversy where none exists.”  They also dismissed Monsanto’s 13 patent infringement lawsuits as “hardly significant” given the number of farms in the US.  I’m sorry that I don’t have time to compile the links, but I can’t even count the number of times I’ve read about a farmer intimidated and harassed by Monsanto without a lawsuit ever coming to fruition (feel free to link to some stories in the comments if you are so inclined – I might come back and add some later).  I think the point of the lawsuit was to give these farmers a right to defend themselves.  They were not asking for money or any other damages, just protection from bullying and GMO contamination that for an organic or open-pollinated farmer means the destruction of their crops.

Real agriculture (I refuse to call what Monsanto does “conventional” so I won’t call what organic growers do “alternative”) doesn’t need companies like Monsanto to fail in order to win.  What they need is the protection they deserve to exist in the marketplace against these corporate giants.  This is the first time I’ve seen this many organizations and farmers group together to defend themselves.  I truly hope that they appeal and get a judge that will at least let them see their day in court.

Read more:

Judge throws out organic farmers case against Monsanto – LA Times
Class-Action Lawsuit Against Monsanto is Dismissed – NY Times
Judge Dismisses Organic Farmers’ Case Against Monstanto – NPR
Monsanto (MON) Has Suit by Organic Growers Dismissed by Federal Court – StreetInsider.com

This entry was posted in Big Agriculture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

