Food Waste Friday – A Necessary Evil

FoodWasteFriday Every Friday, Kristen over at The Frugal Girl posts a picture of her food waste. She invites other bloggers to join in her effort to save money and reduce the amount of food that gets thrown away in our country every day.

First of all, I’d like to share the only thing I did get a picture of:

Whoops

I was getting the rice container out of the pantry, and the semolina and baking soda slid right off.  I guess these things aren’t called “pop” containers for nothing, because when it hit the ground the lid just popped right off!  I only lost a marginal amount of baking soda, but I lost pretty much all the semolina.

Now for what I didn’t take a picture of.  I cleaned out my pantry this week.  Oh yes.  Nearly three grocery sacks full of stuff not fit to give away went into the trash.  So this week has taken more than its fair share of food waste – but of course I’m not done.  I did one more dumb thing.

I wasted milk – and it was totally my fault.  We go through a lot of milk in this house, and I usually have a gallon on deck at all times.  Well this time I must have run through the grocery store without paying attention, because the gallon I brought home had the same date on it as the one already in there!  Now, if I had noticed this when I first got home, I would have popped the new gallon in the freezer immediately and then let it thaw, extending its life by 3 or 4 days, but no, I left it in there until the other one was almost gone before I noticed.  It stayed fresh tasting for a while, but it got to a point where no one wanted to drink it, and it was just too busy of a week for cheese making or any goodness like that.

So sigh, week, sigh.

This entry was posted in Environment, Food Waste, Food Waste Friday, Frugal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Food Waste Friday – A Necessary Evil

  1. I have been cleaning out my pantry one shelf at a time when I get a chance. That way it’s not so overwhelming. Also, I guess we really need to watch those dates on the dairy products. Yogurt gets away from me sometimes.

    • Jessie says:

      I was going to do one shelf at a time myself, but after the first one I got some of that crazy late night momentum and did the whole thing!

  2. MyMove says:

    The pantry has never been my problem, but definitely my fridge. Bread is another difficult item. Living alone… I can never beat the mold. I have to force bread in my face to prevent waste. Hmm…

    • Jessie says:

      Many breads do okay in the freezer for a few days. Also you could make croutons out of the leftovers and they’ll be better than any you’ve gotten from the store!

  3. Jess says:

    Bummer about the semolina flour. That stuff is like gold in our house (we’re slightly addicted to semolina bread), but it’s not as if you wasted it, really. Accidents happen.

  4. SandyH says:

    I freeze our bread and take out only the slices we need for that meal. Either pop in the toaster oven or quick-zap on “defrost” without heating it, in the microwave.

Leave a Reply

