Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 5

Producing more food for my family and becoming generally more self-sufficient has been one of my long time goals now, so I was excited to see the Independence Days Challenge is back on Sharon Astyk’s excellent blog The Chatelaine’s Keys. So each week on Thursdays I’m going to post what I’ve done in each category in the past week.  I’m hoping that this will be the additional motivation I need to reach real food independence!

First of all, happy International Women’s Day!  To celebrate, I’ve posted a picture of three generations – my mother, myself, and my daughter (this picture is a little old, she’s a rambunctious 2 year old now!).  I credit my mother for my lighthearted spirit, and hope to pass some of that on to my own daughter.  I value the wisdom of all the women in my life.  Please take a minute to thank a woman who’s had an influence on you.

Now, on to the Independence Days update!

Plant Something:  Lots.  We’ve been having fantastic weather so I’ve spent most of my time in the garden.  Planted out the basil seedlings (I’ll protect them with cloches if we get a freeze), parsley, lemon balm, chives, more radishes, set out the onions, AND to top it all off, 25 strawberry plants and a dwarf cherry tree!

Harvest Something:  Just some herbs.  I moved some of this winter’s spinach plants to a location they can stay for the spring, so I’m hoping to have a little spinach salad to stave me off.

Preserve Something:  Nope.

Waste Not:  I finally made apple sauce out of the rest of last year’s apples, and I’m proud to say I only had to compost a handful.  We used some of the sauce and excess cooking liquid to make braised pork chops.

Want Not:  Not this week.  There’s a big meat stock-up in the near future though…

Eat the Food:  Made the Frugal Girl’s chicken tacos (always a favorite around here) and the aforementioned pork.  Also made Ellie Krieger’s awesome breakfast cookies (add more cinnamon!).

Build Community Food Systems:  Lots of garden chatting with the friends.  I’m hoping to do some plant/seed swapping soon.

Skill Up:  Nope.

Previous Weeks:  Week 4 | Week 3 | Week 2 | Week 1

This entry was posted in Gardening, Independence Days 2012, Self-Sufficiency, Simple and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 5

  1. I just popped over form Sharon’s space and am glad to have found you! I’m enjoying poking around your space here.

    Sounds like you had a marvelous week of planting! I’m so jealous!

    Here’s this weeks Independence Days post: http://skymindedandevergrowing.blogspot.com/2012/03/independence-days_09.html

  2. K.B. says:

    Those cookies sound yummy! And I’m jealous of your planting too – I’m still forcing myself to wait at least two more weeks, even though this has been an incredibly warm winter!

  3. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 6 | Jessie : Improved

  4. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 7 | Jessie : Improved

  5. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 8 | Jessie : Improved

  6. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 9 | Jessie : Improved

  7. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 9 (And some sad news) | Jessie : Improved

  8. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 10 | Jessie : Improved

  9. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 12 | Jessie : Improved

  10. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 13 (The Last Week??) | Jessie : Improved

  11. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 14 | Jessie : Improved

  12. Pingback: June Garden and Independence Days Update | Jessie : Improved

Leave a Reply

