Garden Update – March

I am currently on a journey to provide healthy, chemical free food for my family from our own land.  My goal is to provide over half of our fresh produce during the year – I’m nowhere near there yet, but I believe it’s possible!  I’ll be posting my progress at least once a month.

Well, here we are, my first “official” Garden Update post of 2012!  There has been a whole lot going on in this garden, so let’s get started!

First of all, I picked up some herbs from the garden center this weekend.  I haven’t quite gotten to growing all my (reasonable) herbs from seed yet, so I supplemented with some plants this year.

Clockwise from top left: common sage, lemon balm, chives, flat leaf parsley

Also not pictured are a few tiny basil plants I started from seed, and some cilantro/coriander that hasn’t come up yet.

My tomato plants are enjoying the warm weather.  It’s still a little early to transplant them, but it sure has been tempting:

Yes, I am an avid re-user 😉

The bees are a-buzzing:

…and the garlic and strawberry plants and sitting pretty, waiting on very different (yet both delicious) harvests!

A lot of french breakfast radishes coming up:

And, oh, did I mention legumes, legumes, and more legumes???

What’s growing in your neck of the woods?

This entry was posted in Frugal, Gardening, Self-Sufficiency and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Garden Update – March

  1. jandouglan says:

    How satsfying! I think your climate must be a little warmer than ours – you’re further ahead. 🙂

    • Jessie says:

      Yeah, we’re on the border between USDA zones 7b and 8 here. Also, the weather has been so mild I’ve been taking a few risks (like setting basil out)!

  2. remanonlast says:

    We’ve recently moved and the garden is a waste land. Reading your post and seeing the gorgeous pics has me hip deep in seed packets and compost. Thanks for the push I needed to get going this weekend!

  3. throve says:

    I like the layout of your plants. I am about to set up my vege garden with raised beds. Still have to buy the timber. What are you using for the walk paths? And do you have a layer of anything under it to stop weeds?

    • Jessie says:

      I use cypress mulch (which is very cheap in my area) for the pathways, and there is landscaping fabric underneath. You could also raid the recycling center for cardboard as a weed blocker – it won’t last forever but hey, it’s free.

      • throve says:

        Thanks for replying. I was reading about cardboard. Some people use it for the base of the no dig garden too for the raised beds too. It sounds very attractive. Not sure what mulch is common here, will look into that. I just need to take action now, as the planning has been in my head for too long.

  4. Pingback: Garden Update – April | Jessie : Improved

Leave a Reply

