Food Waste Friday – Cooking Fail

FoodWasteFriday Every Friday, Kristen over at The Frugal Girl posts a picture of her food waste. She invites other bloggers to join in her effort to save money and reduce the amount of food that gets thrown away in our country every day.

This week’s waste is not due to neglect or forgetfulness – it’s just a plain ol’ cooking fail.  We tried to grill some leeks for the first time and while the flavor was good, they were practically unchewable.  I ate as many of them as I could, and could just do it no more.  We boiled them before grilling to make them tender.  I’m not sure what we did wrong – feel free to offer up some leek grilling hints!

I am happy to report that my “Eat Me” bin from last week’s post is working incredibly well – nothing was wasted due to forgetfulness or “fridge drift” this week.  It’s also really nice to see the leftovers and ingredients that need eating immediately.  It’s much easier to plan meals around waste reduction that way.  Hopefully I’ll get around to organizing the rest of the fridge soon!

This entry was posted in Environment, Food Waste, Food Waste Friday, Frugal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Food Waste Friday – Cooking Fail

  1. I’ve never thought about grilling leeks, so I don’t think I’ll be much help. Did you need to peel more of the outsides off?

    • Jessie says:

      I don’t think so – I followed some instructions on the internet, and I’m pretty sure I either boiled them too long or not long enough. Also, they completely fell apart in the boil so if I try it again, I might boil them with a rubber band still on.

  2. Jess says:

    No leek advice here either. I only really have ever sauteed or made soup with them. Good job on that being your only waste though! My leftover shelf became a mess this week, so I wasted more than I wanted to. Maybe I’ll have to get a bin!

  3. Wow, I’ve never even heard of grilling leaks. Sounds interesting!

  4. throve says:

    I only use leeks in soup, leek and potato soup. The Spanish grill leeks/ long onions called calcots, and serve them whole on the plate, you remove the outer layer and dip the long onions in a special sauce. I love eating it. It’s only when the calcots are in season. Rather messy food to eat but really tasty. They are thinner than a leek, so must be the same family. Perhaps you can search under calcots to get grilling techniques.

  5. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 9 (And some sad news) | Jessie : Improved

Leave a Reply

