Food Waste Friday – Kiwi Squish

FoodWasteFriday Every Friday, Kristen over at The Frugal Girl posts a picture of her food waste. She invites other bloggers to join in her effort to save money and reduce the amount of food that gets thrown away in our country every day.

This week’s waste – a bit of kiwi fruit that rotted way to0 fast.  I’m almost certain I had it less than a week, and over half of one was a weird brownish green on the inside (pretty sure kiwi is not supposed to be that color).  Here’s a picture of it in my compost bowl, since I thought about taking a picture after the fact:

These particular kiwi fruits were from California, and the ones that I usually buy are from New Zealand, and more like December, not April.  I don’t think California is as well suited to growing it as the original home of the fruit, and I probably bought it out of season as well.  Yes, I usually buy local when the food is available in my area, but at least New Zealand kiwi in December is seasonal!

I know it seems like I haven’t been posting a whole lot of waste lately – and it’s true, I haven’t wasted much.  But I’ve also been going to the grocery store more frequently than I like, buying just enough to get us through dinner and eating it all.  It’s not really the way I want to operate, but at least it has generated less waste.  I’ve got to come up with a menu plan that works for us – traditional day-based menu planning just doesn’t jive with my mindset.  Since I get a meat CSA, I’ve been thinking about just pairing each meat with a meal when I do my pickup, and buying the ingredients for those meals all at once (provided they won’t expire).  I won’t necessarily assign meals to days but at least I’ll know I have what I need on hand.  I have to come up with something though, all this grocery shopping is making me nuts!

This entry was posted in Environment, Food Waste, Food Waste Friday, Frugal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food Waste Friday – Kiwi Squish

  1. I too do well with my waste, but need to do better with my meal planning. If I don’t have a plan, that results in a trip out–either to the grocery store or to a restaurant. This past week was good with a plan and eating at home. Let’s see if I can keep it up.

Leave a Reply

