Natural Yeast Experiment: The Introduction

So, anyone remember when I mentioned my natural yeast starter I got in the mail? Well here it is:

It came to me in a plastic baggie as dehydrated flakes.  Basically, all you have to do is feed it with equal parts flour and water (I use whole wheat) – every 2 or 3 days on the counter, and once a week or so if you keep it in the fridge.

This is nothing like the yeast you can get in the grocery store.  It is more like “wild yeast” or yeast you would gather by mixing flour and water together and leaving it on your counter top, although more consistent.  Modern yeast has been design to raise bread quickly and evenly, which is great for convenience, but has a few inherent problems.  Part of the reason modern yeast raises bread so quickly is because it doesn’t act on the entire structure of the wheat, leaving behind compounds that are really not very good for humans.  There is some speculation that this is why modern bread spikes the glycemic index so quickly – breads made with wild or natural yeast hardly spike your blood sugar at all.  I wanted to try making breads with this yeast, because I feel like it will be healthier for my family, because by golly, we like bread, and aren’t going “paleo” any time soon. 😉

Stay tuned for Natural Yeast Experiment: Phase One, wherein I show you my pitiful first attempt at making a loaf of bread with this stuff…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Natural Yeast Experiment: The Introduction

  1. Kim says:

    This experiment is of interest to me. And yeah, as much as I support paleo in theory, I can’t practice it with any fidelity.

  2. Pingback: Natural Yeast Experiment: My First (Sorta) Success! | Jessie : Improved

Leave a Reply

