Food Waste Friday – Shameless Excuses

FoodWasteFriday Every Friday, Kristen over at The Frugal Girl posts a picture of her food waste. She invites other bloggers to join in her effort to save money and reduce the amount of food that gets thrown away in our country every day.

This week is definitely worse than usual.

From the top: some leftover veggies from a pot roast (meat is gone), a few roasted potatoes (they look fine but they’ve been in the fridge for well over a week), about 1 cup of gravy that was leftover from a recipe, and a practically unrecognizable lemon.

I’d like to say a lot of this waste is because my daughter was sick, and now I’m sick, but truth be told, most of it has been in my kitchen longer than that.  I’ve got to get over this nasty cold, then it’s “clean slate” time for my fridge.

How did you do this week?

 

This entry was posted in Environment, Food Waste, Food Waste Friday, Frugal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Food Waste Friday – Shameless Excuses

  1. Erika W. says:

    I do admire your honesty. Do you have a freezer? If so you could do what I try to always do = run left over casserole vegetables through the food processor and freeze for gravies and soup thickeners. Stashing them in the refrigerator is the kiss of death for them with me!

    • Jessie says:

      Yeah, I should probably do that, but honestly I don’t find myself actually wanting a gravy or soup thickener that often since we just don’t cook that way. I’m afraid it would just live in my freezer for the rest of eternity… 😛

  2. We all have weeks once in a while. Hope you and your daughter feel better soon!

  3. The meat is always gone before the veggies at my house also. Hope you feel better soon.

  4. Hope you and your daughter feel better soon, it’s not fun to be sick this time of year. Luckily we don’t have waste at our house which is odd because there are only two of us and most recipes are for four or more. Our leftovers are either used for lunch the next day or for another dinner later in the week. A few hints for you just based on your comments; since you know that the veggies don’t always get eaten with roast next just time cut down on the veggies. That’s what I do, I know that potatoes will be eaten before carrots, so it’s always a few more potates and less carrots for us. Same for the gravy, you can measure it out and make less.

    Busy mom’s can make one night of the week “leftover night,” your own personal potluck and no cooking just reheating. If the leftovers aren’t enough for the whole family, make a quick small casserole to add to the feast or pick up a deli roasted chicken for around $5.00 (at least here they are).

    LOL love the lemon, that one has been in there for more than a week, you have to hate those little buggars they roll around and hide and under behind things!!

    Take care, get well!

Leave a Reply

