Food Waste Friday – Probably Should Have Learned By Now

FoodWasteFriday Every Friday, Kristen over at The Frugal Girl posts a picture of her food waste. She invites other bloggers to join in her effort to save money and reduce the amount of food that gets thrown away in our country every day.

I’ve been tossing applesauce all week.

Technically this is plate waste, but I thought I’d mention it since it’s happened so many times this week.  My daughter keeps asking for applesauce and then not eating it.  I would eat it myself but there is always a lot of licking the spoon and stirring it around and well, nope. 😉

I think it must not be sweet enough for her.  I think it tastes great, but my sweet tooth has been greatly diminished over the years.  I’m going to try sweetening it up just a tad, maybe with some honey, and see if she eats it.

Not pictured:  A little bit of smoothie I made and didn’t drink, and a shriveled up half lime.  Our fridge is looking pretty bare at the moment, so I don’t see much waste going down next week.

How did you do this week?

This entry was posted in Environment, Food Waste, Food Waste Friday, Frugal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Food Waste Friday – Probably Should Have Learned By Now

  1. You never know with kids. Their tastes can change literally overnight. Maybe she has just had a “taste change” as my kids called it.

  2. We’ve had a real bout of popsicles like that this week.

  3. Literally a rotten tomato for me – but we are all headed in the right direction – so shouldn’t be too hard on ourselves….

Leave a Reply

