Food Waste Friday and The Surface of the Sun

FoodWasteFriday Every Friday, Kristen over at The Frugal Girl posts a picture of her food waste. She invites other bloggers to join in her effort to save money and reduce the amount of food that gets thrown away in our country every day.

Today’s waste: some pretty heinous looking celery.  I should have cut it up and frozen it for stock, but well, I didn’t.  And to add insult to injury, I need to make more stock now, and now I have to go buy more celery.  Double phooey.

In other news, it’s going to be ridiculously hot this weekend for Atlanta:

And that’s actual temperature folks – if you’ve ever spent any time in the Southeast, you’ll know that it’s the humidity that really gets you down here.  I’m expecting an effective temperature of somewhere in the 110s.  Seriously.  And since I’m in my third trimester right now, my comfort zone has basically shifted about 10 degrees – in the wrong direction.  There will be a lot of early morning playing outside this weekend, and hiding in the air conditioning the rest of the day…

How did you do this week?

This entry was posted in Environment, Food Waste, Food Waste Friday, Frugal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Food Waste Friday and The Surface of the Sun

  1. tokyohamster says:

    Ooo you live in Hot-lanta! My Facebook page blew up today with all of my friends back home flabbergasted at the temperatures this weekend. Keep cool!

  2. Third trimester in all of that heat. I miserable just thinking about you. Stay cool.

Leave a Reply

