Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 3

Producing more food for my family and becoming generally more self-sufficient has been one of my long time goals now, so I was excited to see the Independence Days Challenge is back on Sharon Astyk’s excellent blog The Chatelaine’s Keys. So each week on Thursdays I’m going to post what I’ve done in each category in the past week.  I’m hoping that this will be the additional motivation I need to reach real food independence! 

Here’s the recap from this week:

Plant Something: Oh yes, this happened, this happened lots.  Several different legume varieties, spinach, french breakfast radishes, basil seeds germinating, and some tomatoes re-potted in quart size containers.  It’s high seed planting time down here in the steamy south!  I also saved the green onions from my last Food Waste Friday post by sticking them in a garden bed – we’ll see how they do!

Harvest Something:  Some salad, that’s about it.  We’re kind of in a lull for harvesting at the moment, and I expect to pull up the rest of my salad greens as soon as the arugula goes to seed, so this could be paltry next week.

Preserve Something:  Nope

Waste Not:  As I mentioned in “Plant Something”, I saved some green onions from the compost.  I also used up some leftover pasta sauce by dumping in some cottage cheese, heating it all up and eating it with crackers.  Kind of like a little mini lasagna snack!

Want Not:  No bulk purchases this week.  There’s not really much in season I have my eye on anyway.

Eat the Food:  We make Smitten Kitchen’s Buttermilk Roast Chicken this week, and it was delicious.

Build Community Food Systems:  Ehhhh, I feel like I’m seriously underperforming here.

Skill Up:  I decided to use string instead of wood for my raised bed dividers, and so far I like it.  Cheap and very easy to set up.  I’m also planning to make paneer today, so that should be exciting (I consider cheese making more of a skill than a recipe per se).

Kind of lacking in a few categories, but I think all the planting this week more than makes up for it.  It’s high time to get the garden in full gear!

I leave you with the beautiful Spanish Lavender plant the hubs got me for Valentine’s Day (brownie points for a living plant):

This entry was posted in Gardening, Independence Days 2012, Self-Sufficiency and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 3

  1. K.B. says:

    I’m so jealous that you are already planting so much! As warm as the winter has been here, I know I have to wait at least another month to get outside – sigh. I used string for my dividers two years ago as well – much easier that using wood strips.

    • Jessie says:

      I guess that’s one of the benefits of gardening in the sunny South, although I had to contend with about 4 months of 90+ (and some days around 100) last year! Heat’s as rough on the plants as the snow!

  2. sarah says:

    Hi I found you via Sharon’s blog, love the lavender plant.

  3. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 4 | Jessie : Improved

  4. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 5 | Jessie : Improved

  5. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 6 | Jessie : Improved

  6. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 7 | Jessie : Improved

  7. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 8 | Jessie : Improved

  8. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 9 | Jessie : Improved

  9. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 9 (And some sad news) | Jessie : Improved

  10. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 10 | Jessie : Improved

  11. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 12 | Jessie : Improved

  12. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 13 (The Last Week??) | Jessie : Improved

  13. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 14 | Jessie : Improved

  14. Pingback: June Garden and Independence Days Update | Jessie : Improved

Leave a Reply

