Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 9

Producing more food for my family and becoming generally more self-sufficient has been one of my long time goals now, so I was excited to see the Independence Days Challenge is back on Sharon Astyk’s excellent blog The Chatelaine’s Keys. So each week on Thursdays I’m going to post what I’ve done in each category in the past week.  I’m hoping that this will be the additional motivation I need to reach real food independence!

My husband and I are celebrating 8 years of marriage this weekend, so we’ll probably be taking a bit of a break from the gardening and cooking and other dailies around here.  Luckily we got a good hard rain last night that should button up all the plants for the weekend.  All I’ll have to do is throw some bird netting over the growing strawberries – who knows, maybe I’ll even have some turning red by next week!

Plant Something:  Just green beans, but my zucchini finally came up this week – I feel like I planted it an eternity ago.

Harvest Something: Herbs, spinach, radishes, arugula, and mesclun mix.

Preserve Something: Nope.  Been eating it all. 😉

Waste Not:  We’ve been steadily working through our Riverview Farms meat CSA, making smoked ribs, boston butt, and Jane’s Best Chili out of the ground beef.  I know we sound like meat heads, but in reality we eat pretty small portions of meat with every meal.

Want Not: We just barely got into early strawberry season here in Georgia, but then again I’ve got my own strawberry plants this year, so I’m not sure if I’m going to be doing any stocking up or not. 

Eat the Food:  Covered this in Waste Not.

Build Community Food Systems:  I’m giving away some of my leftover asparagus crowns (ran out of room), so I’m helping to expand local food by spreading the perennial veggie love.

Skill Up:  I finally switched out my rusty chicken feeder for a large plastic container, thanks to my parents and their coffee habit.  Initially I was worried about rats getting to their feed at night, but I’m not nearly as paranoid now.

How did your week go?

Also, my giveaway is still going until Friday 4/6 (tomorrow) at 8pm EST.  Go check it out! Comments are closed!

 

Previous Weeks:  Week 8 | Week 7 | Week 6 | Week 5 | Week 4 | Week 3 | Week 2 | Week 1

This entry was posted in Gardening, Independence Days 2012, Self-Sufficiency, Simple and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 9

  1. jandouglan says:

    What pretty hens! My week has been spent dashing back and forth to London for various reasons, so my poor garden has suffered. I have loads of plug plants to put in and need to dig the veg patch, but noticed I have some rhubarb ready to pull!

  2. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 9 (And some sad news) | Jessie : Improved

  3. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 10 | Jessie : Improved

  4. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 12 | Jessie : Improved

  5. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 13 (The Last Week??) | Jessie : Improved

  6. Pingback: Independence Days Challenge 2012 – Week 14 | Jessie : Improved

  7. Pingback: June Garden and Independence Days Update | Jessie : Improved

Leave a Reply

